Post 12- Amazing What a Pressure Washer, Bleach and Hard Work Can Accomplish, June 2014

I actually did all of this interior cleaning back in May/June , but I finally got around to matching up the before and after pictures. I distinctly remember getting to the point where I wasn’t scared of the interior anymore. Isn’t that crazy? I did NOT like being inside of that boat. It was definitely pretty scary at the beginning. I really like looking at the “before” pics, makes me remember how far she’s come. All of this interior cleaning was done with protective goggles, gloves and a respirator. Also, the “after” pics were taken after I had removed a lot of the interior woodwork for refurbishing elsewhere.

2 rounds of straight pressure washing

2 rounds of Krud Cutter and manual scrubbing, followed by pressure washing

3  rounds of industrial strength undiluted bleach (4 gallons total) in a garden sprayer, each time followed by pressure washing

Finally, 1 more round of pressure washing.

In between each pressure washing, I siphoned and shop vac’d all the excess water out and let her dry overnight with hatches open and a big box fan running.

Some of these are “Before and After,” and some are “After and Before,” I think you will be able to figure out which is which.

(sorry the lighting is so bad)

Cabin.from.Companionway IMGP1099

 

Cabin.Settee.2 IMGP1139

 

Hanging.Locker.2 IMGP1126

 

Head.3 IMGP0955

 

IMGP1108 Nav.Starboard.Berth

 

IMGP1107 Nav.Station.Starboard

 

 

 

IMGP1134 Portside.Cabin

 

IMGP1134 Portside.Shelves

 

IMGP1135 Portside.Storage

 

IMGP1128 Starboardside.Cabin

 

IMGP1101 Starboardside.Cabin

 

IMGP1127 V.Berth.from.Cabin

 

IMGP1154 V.Berth.Step

 

IMGP1151 V.Berth.Storage

 

Now, the boat is at the point where it’s like, “oh, she needs quite a bit of work, but she’ll be nice,” as opposed to when I first got her. Then, it was “HOLY CRAP! I’ve never seen mold like that! What the HELL were you thinking???”

goggles
I know, my goggles are up-side-down. I had to get swim goggles because the bleach was so strong I couldn’t allow ANY fumes to reach my eyes. Powerful stuff. I had to wear a shower cap along with all the other gear while bleaching the ceiling. GLAD that’s all over. Lovely.

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Post 12- Amazing What a Pressure Washer, Bleach and Hard Work Can Accomplish, June 2014

  1. sunshinepdq36 October 14, 2014 / 7:51 am

    Wow!!! It went from a ghost to a boat. Now it’s truly yours.

    Like

  2. Me October 14, 2014 / 1:18 pm

    I was there to see you in your upside down swim goggles =)

    Like

    • Doreen October 14, 2014 / 1:25 pm

      Yes, you were there Adam. Thanks so much for all of your help!!!

      Like

  3. Paul October 14, 2014 / 7:41 pm

    I want YOU on my Ebola team!!

    Like

    • Doreen October 14, 2014 / 11:49 pm

      I almost think it would be easier to decontaminate after an Ebola outbreak 🙂 If nothing else, I am now experienced if I ever do encounter a deadly viral outbreak.

      Like

  4. Larry Dolan October 20, 2014 / 11:43 pm

    I am truly amazed!! It’s funny how projects take on a life of their own. I thought I had some big projects before me, whoo, I wasn’t even close to big jobs. Your progress is quite remarkable. I have fought mold for some time but not on a plane equal with you. I look forward to watching your progress. s/v Sweet Laraine hull no. 231.

    Like

Leave a comment