Post 18: Removing the Starter and Alternator

Adam and I figured that both the starter and alternator would need to be replaced, or rebuilt, so they needed to be removed. Since they are both electrical components and electrical stuff tends to not do well with being submerged even for short periods of time, not to mention a few years underwater. Adam managed to remove them both with not too much difficulty.

I’ll try taking them to a rebuild shop and see if they’ll rebuild them for me. They’re in pretty rough shape:

removing starter Yanmar 2gm20f
still a lot to clean on the motor

20150216_151119

I forgot to take a pic of the alternator, trust me, it was in bad shape though.

Adam decided to go a little further and removed the valve cover. There’s some gunk in there that we’ll clean. We’ll probably flush it out a bit with diesel a few times and hand clean the parts we can remove.

20150216_160335 20150216_161944

Thanks for your help Adam

Leave a comment